sunday words for mother’s day

First a quote to say thanks to my mom:

“The mother memories that are closest to my heart are the small gentle ones that I have carried over from the days of my childhood. They are not profound, but they have stayed with me through life, and when I am very old, they will still be near . . . Memories of mother drying my tears, reading aloud, cutting cookies and singing as she did, listening to prayers I said as I knelt with my forehead pressed against her knee, tucking me in bed and turning down the light. They have carried me through the years and given my life such a firm foundation that it does not rock beneath flood or tempest.”  –Margaret Sanger

And a wish for those who weren’t as lucky and who find themselves full of conflicted feelings on mother’s day: peace to you.

And to honor the fact that motherhood is full of light and dark, with thanks to my friend Shannon for passing it along:

‎”Motherhood brings as much joy as ever, but it still brings boredom, exhaustion, and sorrow too. Nothing else ever will make you as happy or as sad, as proud or as tired, for nothing is quite as hard as helping a person develop his (sic) own individuality especially while you struggle to keep your own.”- Marguerite Kelly and Elia Parsons

And for those who have chosen not to be mothers and find themselves harshly judged by society for that choice: Many of us who are mothers stand with you and honor your choice.

And for those who wish to be mothers but aren’t: I wish you comfort.

And, finally, a little humor:

8 thoughts on “sunday words for mother’s day

Leave a Reply

