cakewalk post-mortem

public domain from wikimedia commons

*

School Carnival Haiku

The cakewalk began
five minutes late and confused.
But it’s over now.

*

Reader, we have survived the cakewalk. I knew you’d want to know.

The cakewalk came together on a lick and a promise and the last-minute addition of an extension cord.

The cakes appeared out of nowhere, raining down upon us from sources unknown.

There were two pieces left at the end of the carnival.

Today’s children don’t recognize the first generation iPod. Them: What’s that? Me: An iPod. Them: No it’s not! Me: Okay. (Yes, I’ve learned not to argue with children who think they’re right).

Today’s generation of children know nothing of Aerosmith. Sigh.

New rule: If you’ve already been around the circle three times and there are other children waiting in line, you have to go to the end of the line and wait for your next turn. Yes, this means you.

New rule: No you cannot buy a piece of cake from the cakewalk. Because the point of it is to win the piece of cake. Because that’s how it works. I said no. This conversation is over.

New rule: If you complain about the manner in which the cakewalk is administered, you’re kicked out. Yes, this also means you.

New rule: You actually need three volunteers to run a successful (I use the term loosely) cakewalk. One to do the music and call out the numbers. One to control the flow of traffic onto and off of the cakewalk circle. And a third, someone who is not wearing skinny jeans to maintain and replace the chalk-drawn numbers on the circle. Ahem.

This is all I know about cakewalks.

And now, back to the business of poetry. If you wonder what I’ve been reading lately, you’re not alone. I’m wondering, too. What I mean is that I usually post a lot about what I’m reading, but haven’t lately. Which, I realized last night, is because I’ve been reading books for class and other people’s manuscripts. My last class is on Wednesday, so soon I’ll be back to reading what I choose and telling you all about it.

This is the last full week of school. I’m going to make the most of it by going to the library every day and putting in some good hours on my own work.

Thanks for reading. If I knew you were coming I’d have baked a cake…….. πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “cakewalk post-mortem

  1. upon reading this i am left with one question: what is the etiology of the expression “it’s a cake walk” if, indeed, ACTUAL cake walks are NOT, in fact, euphemistic cake walks? wait, i answered my own question via a simple google research: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/cakewalk

    no, i’m left with another: since when does a cake walk victory result in only ONE piece of cake? the perhaps THREE cake walks i have attended in my life (including one in old harbor, alaska…a remote village reached by a four-person plane…a very interesting experience to say the least) one receives an entire cake. oh. wait. you’re in socal. i get it. πŸ™‚

    glad you survived it, molly!

    • Very interesting…… had I known, I would’ve made them do imaginative dance moves, too. But it was enough of a challenge just to keep them WALKING. I’m with you — I’ve never heard of a cakewalk where you don’t get the whole cake. I’m all for the whole cake concept, especially because it would cut down on the time and effort involved. However, since I’m the new girl at school I kept mum.

      • πŸ™‚ Well, there are plenty of down-to-earthers out here, too. But I observe that, for some, affluence can become an avenue to begin worrying about increasingly less important things. Just a theory.

    • Mmmmmm, come to think of it, so am I. What about you — did your cakewalks give away the whole cake or just a piece of cake? I’m squarely in the whole cake camp.

      • Whole cake. I am missing most of your posts. I only see the Friday ones that I see on FB. How do I get emails telling me there’s a new post? Both Fires did that.

  2. Nevermind, I found where to sign up for your posts. I am feeling really weird today — passed out after my vein procedure! Turns out two Valium is too much for me — nurse was instructred to give me just one next time.

  3. Good to know you survived – but I had a sneaking suspicion you would. πŸ™‚

    We used to get whole cakes but that was way before people had so little time to bake and volunteer and waaaaay before iPods. We had ghetto blasters (though it’s not right to call them that now). Oh, the eighties…

Leave a Reply

