manic monday: minimum-day/toddler invasion version

what would I do without wikimedia?

I had never heard of a “minimum day” until we moved to California; a minimum day is a half-day of school, and I believe it gets its name because it’s comprised of the minimum amount of instructional time a school can provide and still get funding for that day (don’t quote me on this). Now minimum days and I are tight, practically inseparable, it seems, especially this week which is a full week of minimum days (insert weak smile here). Actually, I like having some extra time with my kiddos, and I like that they have some extra time to be kiddos, but it does throw a wrench in the writing plan. I also have the great good luck of babysitting one of my nephews this week (insert big, huge, proud auntie grin here). Said nephew attended writing group with me this morning and rocked the house — looked around, kissed the dog, picked up a pen and started “writing” in my notebook; occasionally took a spin around the table to steal other people’s snacks, then got back to business with his writing.

Well, all this is just to say

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

no, no just kidding 🙂 . This is just to say that I won’t have as much blog-time this week, so I’m going to try to do easy-peasy posts. Then again, I have a tendency to make an easy-peasy post go on a while… .

So stay tuned for (I’ve been saying that a lot lately, haven’t I?):

  • craft tips from the high desert
  • things you always intuited about line but never could articulate until now
  • how to hold a successful writing group with toddler in tow

and… some other stuff.

Hope your week is off to a great start and thanks, as always, for reading.

5 thoughts on “manic monday: minimum-day/toddler invasion version

  1. No week can be bad so long as we can quote WCW (a precious favourite). Good luck!

    Half-days for me usually mean tedious and unhelpful “professional development” seminars or staff meetings. Much rather teach.

Leave a Reply

