manic monday: working mother edition

rescheduled and disorgandized

Happy Monday, Reader. I’m here in the Peninsula Town wondering how all my dear ones on the Atlantic Coast are doing as Hurricane Sandy bears down. I’m tempted to check on Facebook, but I’m just not ready to face the World Series celebrations after my Tigers went 0-4. Ouch. I still love you, Tigers. Bless you, boys.

Meanwhile, let me tell you about my attempts to be a working mother. You might remember we talked about organization and scheduling in September as I tried to figure out a good writing schedule for myself this year — the first year of all 3 kids in school all day. You might remember that I built in some “flex days” that could go either way: toward writing or toward mom-ing depending on the need.

Of course, the flex days always went toward mom-ing. Nature of the beast.

Result: not enough writing time. So, for the last handful of weeks (minus the toddler invasion), I decided I would act like a working mother (as if any mother is not one). I decided I would devote all of the time when the kids are in school to writing, leaving mom responsibilities for afternoons and the weekend.

Result: house in chaos, 47 errands stacked up for Saturday, no Halloween costumes, no food, no milk. BUT I have a Costco pack of T.P. so we’re all set there.

Still, by the time the weekends were over all five of us were exhausted and crabby.

So here I sit, rescheduled and disorgandized. The old tug-o-war rears its ugly head. Only thing to do is try again, fail again, fail better. Which I will, of course, do. Because there is no magic pumpkin waiting to turn into a carriage to take me to the Ball of the Ideal Writing Schedule. Bummer.

Meanwhile, I’m giving thanks to be a working mother with a flexible schedule. I have one of the three bears home with a tummyache. While he rests, reads, and watches TV, I’ve conducted two poetry “conference calls” (hee, hee; okay they were just poetry-related phone calls) and done a bit of revision. Nice work if you can get it.

Have a great week, and thanks for reading. All you folks back east, stay safe.

7 thoughts on “manic monday: working mother edition

  1. i teach, so even though i’m only working out of the house a few days a week, its still intense keeping up with le bebe + writing + work! i’m still holding out hope for my husband to become independently wealthy so i can become a stay at home poet….uh…i mean Mom..right? 😉

    • Make sure your husband becomes independently wealthy enough for childcare too! 😉 Thanks for offering this comfort in solidarity. It’s not an easy juggle for anyone, is it?

  2. There never seems to be enough time for writing….or for anything for that matter.

    If it’s any consolation, I had to read this post three times due to interruptions before I could respond. LOL. 🙂

  3. oh girl… Mothering = full time. Working = full time. Wifing = full time (if you want to do it well…) keeping a home = full time.
    One woman.
    24 hours.
    Just do the best you can with the day you are dealt! There’s no way to do it all, Jill. No way.
    Peace and love to you.

    • From the horse’s mouth! From my favorite working mother (well, tied for first). Thank you. Hearing it from you makes it easier to accept. There’s really no way to do it all. One day at a time. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

