Sally Rosen Kindred’s next big thing

Image

Today it’s my pleasure to host Sally Rosen Kindred’s “next big thing.” Sally and I connected after I saw some of her awesome poems in Cave Wall and I decided I should stalk her online 🙂 (Facebook has its faults, but it is good for stalking other poets). What I discovered is that not only is Sally a wonderful poet, she’s a kind, witty, and all around wonderful person as well. I’m excited to share her responses to the questions about her next big thing. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Sally Rosen Kindred:

What is your working title of your book (or story)? Darling Hands, Darling Tongue

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? The poems explore the world of Peter Pan through previously muted voices, mostly of girls and women—including Tink, Wendy, Tiger Lily, and a mother who reads the story to her sons.

Where did the idea come from for the book? The idea began when I read JM Barrie’s Peter Pan and Wendy to my boys. Though I felt close to the story, I’d never read the complete version, and it surprised me. I remarked on-line about Tinker Bell’s coarse language and violent tendencies (which I found oddly endearing), and Emily Croy Barker (whose wonderful novel, The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic, is due out this August!) said, “Somebody should write a pomo novel about Tinkerbell as a misunderstood roundheels.”

I thought that was one of the most fabulous ideas I’d ever heard.

But, I’m not a novelist. And, though I love the idea, a roundheels wasn’t quite what I had in mind. So on Mother’s Day, 2011, I began writing a poem through the Tink I believed in…which led to a poem from the Wendy Darling I claimed…which led to another.

The idea also came from conversations I’d been having with my dear friend, writer Nancy Quick Langer. I’d been reading Nancy’s moving essays about motherhood—which you can find on her blog, and talking with her about them, and those conversations helped feed the poems, as did her feedback on the drafts. The chapbook is dedicated to Nancy, whom I can’t thank enough for her friendship and wisdom and literary mind.

What genre does your book fall under? Poetry.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Oh, I wouldn’t dare cast anyone. I want my readers to build their own visions!  But David Tennant can do something, because in my poem universe, David Tennant can do anything he likes.

When will it be released, and who is the publisher? The chapbook will be out in March 2013 from Hyacinth Girl Press. Editor Margaret Bashaar is a talented poet and publisher, and I’m so thrilled she took this on.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? It took me roughly a year—from Mother’s Day 2011, to final revisions in a coffee shop in Pittsburgh in June 2012. A really good year.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Books I admire that do things like what I hope to be doing with persona and myth include Carol Ann Duffy’s The World’s Wife, Louise Gluck’s Wild Iris, Ava Leavell Haymon’s Why The House Is Made of Gingerbread, Lisa Russ Spaar’s Glass Town, and Jeannine Hall Gailey’s She Returns to the Floating World. Lesley Wheeler’s The Receptionist and Other Tales is a novel-in-verse, and my chapbook is not, but some of those “Other Tales”—there’s a Captain Hook poem, for instance—I would love to have my work compared to.

Who or what inspired you to write this book? One stylistic inspiration was poet Angela Vogel, whose smart, dense lyrics have lately challenged me to tighten my hold on syntax and voice.  Of course, I love the persona poems in the books mentioned above. I’ve also been a long-time fan of many fairy-tale poems in the gorgeous on-line journal Goblin Fruit.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? Titles of poems in the collection include “Notes from a Fairy Autopsy,” and “Wendy Darling Has Bad Dreams.”  I’m hoping Tink’s autopsy report and Wendy’s nightmares pique somebody’s interest the way they did mine.

Four poems in the collection appear in this issue of diode.

*

Well, I don’t know about you, Reader, but I now have a whole list of books and poets to read and re-read. And of course, I can’t wait to get my grubby little hands on Darling Hands, Darling Tongue. Thank you so much, Sally, for sharing your next big thing with us.

Sally hereby tags the following writers: Julie Brooks Barbour, Julie L. Moore, Devon Miller-Duggan (who will be blogging at http://miriamswell.wordpress.com/), Kimberly L. Becker, and Lesley Wheeler. Some of these writers will be guest-posting here about their next big things, so stay tuned for that.

And also stay tuned for poet and editor Kristina Marie Darling’s next big thing, which I’ll be posting here in the next week or so.

2 thoughts on “Sally Rosen Kindred’s next big thing

  1. Pingback: “Next Big Thing” weird self-interview blog meme thing | LESLEY WHEELER

  2. Pingback: “Next Big Thing” « annemichael

Leave a Reply

