friday roundup: the conundrum of self-promotion, after the smoke clears, and ‘the whisper of girlhood’ (and… some other stuff)

I'll get around to the housework... after the smoke clears... (snagged this image from FBTroublemakers via Sandy Longhorn)

I’ll get around to the housework… after the smoke clears… (snagged this image from FBTroublemakers via Sandy Longhorn)

Reader, this week has been devoid of long, quiet library mornings. It has been devoid of long, quiet anythings. We have had birthday and fever and birthday-fever. And then some more fever. I’ve been telling myself: make use of whatever time you have, and believe that it’s enough. People ask me, “How do you write with three kids?” Answer: sometimes I don’t. Other times, I write in whatever time I have. I’ve drafted poems on the way to the zoo, at swim practice, and in the ballet studio waiting room. Also the doctor’s office waiting room. Also in the aisle at the grocery store and the movie theater. I’m extraordinarily lucky to have a few hours every day those weeks when everyone’s in school (I remember this in theory) — so I’m not complaining. Just saying: whatever your passion is, slip it into the tiny cracks of your days if you have to, until a wider plain of time opens up. Yes, I am writing this to remind myself — thank you for bearing with me :). Now on to the roundup:

the conundrum of self-promotion  Erin Coughlin Hollowell writes today about the conundrum of self-promotion. Her book Pause, Traveler (which I’m looking forward to reading) is coming out soon. Erin says, “The problem is, like most introverted writers, I feel awkward promoting myself and my work. Pushy, self-aggrandizing, embarrassed, uncomfortable.”

I don’t have a book to promote, but I certainly do feel the same way when it comes to spreading the word about my poems as they make their way in the world. Still (deep breath), I’m going to share with you a link to Myrrh, Mothwing, Smoke, an anthology of erotic poetry from Tupelo Press, that I’m happy to have a poem in. Other contributors include Cynthia Rausch Allar, Michelle Bitting, Lisa Coffman, Amy Dryansky, Li Yun Alvarado, Paula Brancato, Gillian Cummings, Darla Himeles, Joel F. Johnson, Christopher Kokinos, Amy MacLennan, Stephen Massimilla, Barbara Mossberg, Susanna Rich, Aubrey Ryan, Anna Claire Hodge, Janet R. Kirchheimer, Conley Lowrance, Lea Marshall, Mary Ann Mayer, Steven Paschall, Liz Robbins, Jo Anne Valentine Simson, Jeneva Stone, Judith Terzi, Gail Thomas, Kim Triedman, Bruce Willard, P. Ivan Young.

The book is available in print and e-book format. I’m grateful to the folks at Tupelo Press for finding a home for some of my work. And here’s a teaser: Peter and Wendy… who knew? 😉

after the smoke clears  I’ve been reading through a really cool issue of Poetry East called Origins: Poets on the Composition Process. For each poem published in the issue, there is also a short essay on the poem’s origins, written by the poet. It has been fascinating to read about the process behind each poem.

And yet, one of my favorite essays in the issue is “For Once Let’s Not Talk So Much About the Poem” by Joseph Stroud (whose poem “Grief” appears in the issue). Stroud says,

“Perhaps the best response to a good poem is silence. Or to read it again.”

He says,

“In the end, after all the smoke clears, after all the discussions and theories and criticism, there are two kinds of poems. Poems that make a difference in our lives. And poems that don’t. Let’s hold on to the ones that do, hold on and cherish them, and do all in our power to try and write them.”

Let the people say, Amen!

‘the whisper of girlhood’ (and… some other stuff)  Reader, forgive me, but I just haven’t been able to narrow down this week’s poetry selection to one poem. No, I’m sorry, but I have to ask you to go read this entire issue at Connotation Press. Because I know you want to read some of Sandy Longhorn’s sickly speaker poems, and Bernadette Geyer’s garbage disposal poem (and also her yoga poem), and Brooke J. Sadler’s poem/prayer involving…, well I don’t want to give it away — but it involves breakfast meat and go read it. And also Julie Brooks Barbour’s work (teaser: watermelon!). And then Erin Elizabeth Smith’s Alice in Wonderland poems (where you’ll find ‘the whisper of girlhood’). And there are other good poems there, to. So, click around. You’ll be glad you did.

Oh, and then, just a note: I’ve been having some blog-keeping issues. My whole list of po-links somehow disappeared. I’m slowly rebuilding the list, but in the meantime, sorry about the  missing links.

Happy Friday, Reader. Happy poetry! Thanks for reading.

10 thoughts on “friday roundup: the conundrum of self-promotion, after the smoke clears, and ‘the whisper of girlhood’ (and… some other stuff)

  1. Thank you, thank you for reminding me to go back to this issue! I always read John’s note, but this month I didn’t get to Kaite’s interview or the poems. Lovely stuff!

  2. It’s not self-promoting, it’s sharing. Where would we be if Anne Carson (or any other beloved author) didn’t ‘self-promote’? We all need help finding good work. Thanks for pointing us towards yours.

Leave a Reply

