diving into summer

Image

on your marks, get set,…. (wikimedia)

Technically, it’s not summer… yet. But there’s stone fruit at the produce market and swim team starts today, so I know it’s only a matter of time.

I’ve been thinking about a summer writing schedule, hatching a plan that involves me going to bed early shortly after Youngest, so I can get up early (really early) to write. Then Husband can put the Olders to bed a bit later. It’s a good idea in theory, but in practice I stayed up later than planned last night, still woke early, and fell asleep face down on my desk at 11:00 a.m. Oops. Still, I’m not ready to scrap the plan after just one less-than-successful attempt. Ever onward. I’ll let you know how it goes.

As we slide toward summer, there are one ka-jillion school events going on. I’ve managed to say no to most of them, while donating my time to the ones that feel easiest and/or most interesting to me. I keep reciting the list of things I’m already volunteering for in my head every time another volunteer request comes in. This small act has helped me to say no several times already.

My top priority this week is to get up to the city to see the Dutch masters before they leave town. In particular, I feel an existential need to lay my very own eyes on The Girl with a Pearl Earring. One must have one’s priorities. I shall report back.

May your slide toward summer be gentle.

7 thoughts on “diving into summer

  1. Hi Molly,

    Difficult times, summers! I remember them well. It’s so great to have the kids around, but that’s about all a mother can get done. Plus if she spends all her time planning around the kids’ schedules, what happens to the spousal or self care? Don’t be too hard on yourself.

    Cylia

  2. Oh, I so hope you get to see the Dutch Masters exhibit! I really miss visiting museums.

    I am both looking forward to Summer and dreading it, as I do every year. This school year has seemed to go especially fast, but I think that’s something that I also say every year.

    I don’t yet know what my writing schedule will be. I never quite followed through with the one I had planned while the kids were in school! I suppose I will try and at least keep my Thursday Friday, and every other weekend plan, although summer vacation always proves to play havoc with the parenting schedule. (as it already has– I’ve had the girls for three weeks straight now! …and yes, I *am* half-dead. I shouldn’t complain, I know. Most people have their children full time. I just have to be Mom and Dad when I do, and my two girls are like four girls. Anyway–back on point…) The point being, that we’ll just have to wait and see. I do love following your plans though, Molly, and love how you always share. 🙂

    • Val, you can see how my writing schedule is working out by how far behind I am on answering blog comments :). This week it’s going nowhere, but I will try again next week! And, yes, being mom AND dad is no easy task. Hang in there and best wishes!

      • Thanks! I’m sure you’ll get it together much more quickly than I will!

        …and don’t worry about getting back to blog comments….I neglected my entire blog for six months! 🙂

        I am finding that (after this four day break without the girls) when I do stick to a schedule I get so much more writing done…as opposed to my usual artisty/hippie “I can only create when I feel like creating!” routine. Ha ha. So not true. 😀

Leave a Reply

