April Lindner’s next big thing

April Lindner; photo courtesy of the author

April Lindner; photo courtesy of the author

Hello Reader. As promised, here’s a little light shining on the work of other writers. Today, I’m happy to host a “next big thing” for April Lindner. Please also take a look at one of April’s tags, Ann E. Michael’s next big thing.

What is your working title of your book (or story, or project)? Lucy

Where did the idea come from for the book?  The summer after I graduated from college I backpacked solo across Europe for two months, an experience that changed how I saw myself and the world. Lucy was inspired by that experience, and also by E. M. Forster’s novel A Room With a View.

What genre does your book fall under? The Young Adult novel, with, I hope, crossover appeal to adults.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?  Helena Bonham Carter circa 1985 and Milo Ventimiglia circa The Gilmore Girls.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?  On the trip of a lifetime across Europe, a young girl falls in love with an American street musician in Florence, Italy, and begins to question the life that awaits her back home in Philadelphia.

Who will publish this book? Little, Brown’s Poppy imprint.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?  The first draft took a summer, but that was two summers ago. I’m still revising; in fact I’m on draft six right now.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?  My first two novels were contemporary retellings of classic Brit Lit–Jane (a modernization of Jane Eyre) and Catherine (based on Wuthering Heights). After I finished writing Catherine, I knew I wanted to do at least one more classic update, and my thoughts immediately turned to Forster’s A Room With a View. It’s one of my favorite novels, but the truth is, I fell in love first with the gorgeous Merchant-Ivory film adaptation and only came to the book after the fact.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?  Apart from high romance under the Tuscan sun? Well, Lucy’s a gifted actress/singer whose father bribes her to give up her acting ambitions with the aforementioned trip to Europe. So there’s backstage intrigue. And, as always in my books, there’s rock music.

April Lindner is the author of two novels, CATHERINE (a modernization of WUTHERING HEIGHTS) and JANE (a modernization of JANE EYRE).  She also has published two books of poetry, THIS BED OUR BODIES SHAPED and SKIN, winner of the 2002 Walt McDonald Poetry Prize. She lives near Philadelphia and teaches at Saint Joseph’s University. 

*

I don’t know about you, Reader, but I now have several more books on my To Read list. April’s other tags are Ned Balbo, Lynn Levin, and Angela Alaimo O’Donnell. I’m not hosting these tags, but if you hunt around on Google, I bet you can find them. Stay tuned for more light shining on the work of other writers, and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

