friday roundup: truth, art, hope

Friendly reminder with penguin paperweight (don't ask) and stapler.

Friendly reminder with penguin paperweight (don’t ask; involves sensitive middle child) and stapler.

Hello out there.

Well, wow. I feel really quiet today, and have all week as world and national events have unfolded. That old question: What can one person possibly say or do in the face of such injustice, devastation, terror?

But of course there are things a person can do. Times like these, I remind myself that — as the years-old tag from a bag of Good Earth tea that I have taped to my bookshelf says — “Your choices will change the world.”

So I keep choosing: truth, art, hope.

(Also, I keep choosing civic engagement, support for candidates and organizations that work for what I believe in, awareness of my own privilege in the world).

That middle word in the first list helps me with the other two. Sometimes art is a way to the truth. Sometimes it’s the only thing that gives me hope.

Here is a poem that speaks the truth.

Here is one that gave me hope this week, by reminding me how to start again each day.

Here is an excerpt from a poem written decades ago by Gwendolyn Brooks that still speaks to our particular moment:

“Rise. / Let us combine. There are no magics or elves / Or timely godmothers to guide us. We are lost, must / Wizard a track through our own screaming weed.”

The Brooks excerpt is from her poem “The Womanhood” in Annie Allen. You can also find it in her Selected Poems.

I’m going to wander off and be quiet some more. Happy Friday. Let us combine. Amen.

2 thoughts on “friday roundup: truth, art, hope

Leave a Reply

