friday in lieu of a roundup: on keeping the channel open

IMG_6473.JPG

From Moby Dick

Reader, one of my friends on Facebook wrote that there are negative amounts of poetry in her life this month.

Here I raise my hand.

And yet, the Universe (well, okay, social media) keeps reminding me that making art is not about production or results.

So in lieu of a roundup, I’m going to share a few things that have kept me relatively calm amidst the negative amounts of poetry in my life so far this month.

#1 the pitch drop experiment  My genius, biochemist older brother told me about this years ago, and I can’t stop thinking about it. In the pitch drop experiment, a scientist set up an experiment to see how long it would take for pitch—which seems quite brittle in some ways, and indeed can be chipped off itself at room temperature, but is in fact viscous—to form a drop, and for that drop to fall. That process takes about a decade. I haven’t verified this independently, but my brother told me that when the first drop of pitch finally did fall, the scientist who set up the experiment was not there to witness it.

#2 the paint that is still drying  My genius, poet-artist friend Kelly Cressio-Moeller does this cool thing on Facebook: Every Friday she posts a piece of art and a little something about it. This week she posted a still life by the artist Dick Ket. From wikipedia:

“As a result of his technical experimentation with different formulations and additives to the glaze medium, some of his paintings are not completely dry after six decades.”

#3 the open channel  Yet another friend posted an inspiring quote from Martha Graham about the role of the artist vis-a-vis her work (and specifically vis-a-vis evaluating her work):

“There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all of time, this expression is unique. And if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium and it will be lost. The world will not have it. It is not your business to determine how good it is nor how valuable nor how it compares with other expressions. It is your business to keep it yours clearly and directly, to keep the channel open. You do not even have to believe in yourself or your work. You have to keep yourself open and aware to the urges that motivate you. Keep the channel open. … No artist is pleased. [There is] no satisfaction whatever at any time. There is only a queer divine dissatisfaction, a blessed unrest that keeps us marching and makes us more alive than the others.”

I think all three of these things speak for themselves. I wish you blessed unrest.

 

4 thoughts on “friday in lieu of a roundup: on keeping the channel open

  1. Isn’t that Martha Graham passage great? I frequently share it in workshops and summer camps with young writers — as both reminder to myself and encouragement to them. 🙂

    • Yes, I love it, and I think what resonated most with me this time around is the bit about “it is not your business to determine how good it is nor how valuable…” etc. And I think this whole blog is a reminder to myself :). Thanks for being such a faithful reader.

Leave a Reply

