from the notebooks

FullSizeRender 28

I love to look at artists’ notebooks. ^^Here^^ is mine. (Well, actually, I prefer to look at the insides of the notebooks, but sorry, this one’s still too fresh to bare).

It is a messy place, scuffed, tagged, dog-eared, x’d out, scrawled across. I’m against making the notebook a sacred place. I’m in favor of messes.

When I start a new notebook, I always write this quote from Robert Hass inside the front cover, even though I don’t really believe it: “Take the time to write. You can do your life’s work in half an hour a day.”

It’s the half an hour part that I don’t believe.

But you can do at at least some of your life’s work in half an hour a day, so there’s that.

Here are some snippets from my notebook, selected at random:

//

“Over again I feel thy finger and find thee” Hopkins… Deutschland

//

Lament for Untitled

//

Also, that Goya painting.

//

(Imitating Wright, god help me)

//

3/15/2017 ( and you? )

//

wing
broken wing
snapped wing
snapped wing of your doubt

//

S-P as a Paper Boat

//

Also: the moon as ashen

//

bleh
bleh bleh bleh

Note: written below attempts at poems

//

A.R. Ammons “A Tree Full of Cleavage Bared Branching”—one word from it: chantless

//

papery->chartaceous(!), tissue, parchment

//

flange
rail
cringe
blear
share (as n.)
unchild
shoal
vault
reeve

//

From Linda Gregg’s poem “Blake”:

“I am finished with knife and window / My bed will be underground soon enough. / I will persist in this impermanence / that flesh holds. The body smooth, / the voices speaking within.”

Leave a Reply

